Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Joss Naylor Round advice

Question Joss Naylor Round advice

I have run in the lake district,and taken part in the LAMM and Saunders events. However I have no experience of long distance challenges. I have reccied the first 2 legs of theJNR and found I need to run faster than anticipated, and get the route just right. Can some one tell me the best maps to use for this event and also help with some route advice. Arthurs Pike, up through Parkfoot ? Kirkstone pass ,down the path or cut across? Seat Sandal to Dunmail down the path or across the grass ? and finally ( for the moment ) straight up Steel fell from the stile or is there a better route. All help gratefully received.

Re: Joss Naylor Round advice

Quote Originally Posted by I must be mad. View Post
    I have run in the lake district,and taken part in the LAMM and Saunders events. However I have no experience of long distance challenges. I have reccied the first 2 legs of theJNR and found I need to run faster than anticipated, and get the route just right. Can some one tell me the best maps to use for this event and also help with some route advice. Arthurs Pike, up through Parkfoot ? Kirkstone pass ,down the path or cut across? Seat Sandal to Dunmail down the path or across the grass ? and finally ( for the moment ) straight up Steel fell from the stile or is there a better route. All help gratefully received.
    I can only give advice on what we did last weekend. The contenders were v60's and so had 18 hours. I have now got to start looking at timings for a 15 hour round for me. A 12 hour round seems to be very fast and I know of a few very capable distance mountain runners who waited for a greater time allowance.