Thread: New to fell running

New to fell running

Hi,

I'm pretty new to fell running, although I've done loads of long distance walks and am a reasonable (but slow!) road runner, up to around 10 miles. I'm a bored with road running, have suffered a few ankle injuries and really want to be able to run at least parts of some of the long distance (40+ miles) walks I do.

I've only started in the last couple of weeks and I've come across this forum. Has anyone got any advice on how I can improve and what exactly I need to do to be able to run some of these longer-distance walks?

Any advice appreciated!

Super Moderator

Re: New to fell running

Quote Originally Posted by demloon View Post
    Hi,

I'm pretty new to fell running, although I've done loads of long distance walks and am a reasonable (but slow!) road runner, up to around 10 miles. I'm a bored with road running, have suffered a few ankle injuries and really want to be able to run at least parts of some of the long distance (40+ miles) walks I do.

I've only started in the last couple of weeks and I've come across this forum. Has anyone got any advice on how I can improve and what exactly I need to do to be able to run some of these longer-distance walks?

Any advice appreciated!
    Welcome to the forum demloon

I'd suggest the time honoured tactic of walking the ups, jogging the flat and running down the hills to start with. Build up your mileage slowly so as to avoid overuse injuries and you'll be fine

There's loads of advice in the Training section
    Poacher turned game-keeper

Master and MR

Quote Originally Posted by Derby Tup View Post
    Welcome to the forum demloon

I'd suggest the time honoured tactic of walking the ups, jogging the flat and running down the hills to start with. Build up your mileage slowly so as to avoid overuse injuries and you'll be fine

There's loads of advice in the Training section
    Forget training, just eat plenty of salmon and feta