Thread: Training Legs for walking part

Training Legs for walking part

Has anyone found a good way to train the legs / calves to help on those really steep walking sections?

I find im ok (ish) on the runnable bits, but slow down more than the ones around me on the virtical walking sections, which then means i have to work harder to make up the lost time.
    I realise that a lot of this is down to training on the hills, but living in Warwickshire i have limited options / chances to get out on anything steep enough and long enough to generate the same level of burn

Re: Training Legs for walking

I'm no expert, but I seem to do better on the uphill bits than downhill bits.

I have the same problem of not having hills that are anything like what you get in fell runs, but running up what I do have seems to be helping and preparing me a bit, and also giving some of that burn, although by a different means.

I've also started doing squats quite regularly to replicate that slow but constant working of your thighs and sort of bum area (don't know if that's the technical term)!

Hope that helps a bit.

Thinking about the squats, once you can do them quite happily without legs/ knees buckling inwards, think about single leg squats as well- but with a low, maybe even bodyweight only weight... all things considered, running is mainly done on 1 leg... and generally not with all that much of a deep squatting action either.
    Just a thought.

another modest little thought here, lifted from the great Joss himself.... whereas good hill walking technique is itty-bitty steps, when you'er training on any kind of walking section (stairs, hills etc) take really big steps instead. I've just started doing this myself on some fierce little slopes on my regular runs. I can actually run up them relatively ok but walking with giant steps up them is waaaaaay harder adn seems to generate the burn in all the right places...therefore it can only be doing me good right?