Thread: Knee issues/injuries

Knee issues/injuries

I'm very sorry if this is the wrong type of forum or if I'm in the wrong place but I do not know where else to turn to. I'm only 16 yet my knees feel as if they are triple that. I've been running since I was 8 years old, I used to play football on concrete for near 5 hours a day until I was 15 or so. Until a few weeks ago I would jog around my area every day but recently I've stopped because I cannot take the pain of my knees any longer. I've not been to a doctor yet as upon research I assumed it was runners knee. I've rested/iced/stretched my knees for the past few weeks and tried running yesterday but the pain had not subsided at all, if anything it was worse.

I've ordered knee support straps which hopefully will help me, the pain is to the left of my right knee cap and to the right of my left knee cap. Has anybody got any idea what this could be? And how I can treat the injury?

Thank you in advance and sorry again if this is the wrong location!

Re: Knee issues/injuries

sounds like this:

http://www.sportsinjuryclinic.net/cybertherapist/front/knee/patellofemoral_pain_syndrome.php

wall-sits and single-leg squats would be the way ahead
    Last edited by DazTheSlug; 05-01-2012 at 02:29 AM.
    Scramble the rock face through the glare of morning sun — to run

Liam, I would seriously suggest that you visit your GP to explain your symptoms and ask for a referral to a sports physiotherapist, who should be able to identify the problem for certain. Best of luck.

What Britnick says....
    See a SPORTS physio. By all means see a doctor as well, but they can be notorious for saying "take ibuprofen and rest it". If you want a decent diagnosis, seek out a respected physio in your area, and pay for it. You only really get one pair of decent knees to mess around with.

Seek out a medical professional:thumbup: and not an FRA Forum diagnosis.

You'll be back in the running before you know it.
    Tuffer