Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Greetings!

Greetings!

Hello everyone,

I am a true beginner in the world of fell running, but I am itching to give it a bit of a go. My head is spinning with body cover and compass reading at the moment!

I am a mediocre runner if the truth be told, I do run for a club in the Greater Manchester area and compete at road mainly and the annual XC league with the odd bit of trail thrown in. I have done one fell race up to this point, the Wincle Trout Run which I loved (and the Millbrook Monster which is multi-terrain but tough going!).

I am not much of a distance runner so I tend to limit myself to races no greater than about 6 miles at the moment due to fitness. Also another slight issue is that I hate running in lots of layers – something I expect I am going to have to get used to! Also I have never learned to use a compass and a proper map so I am severely lacking in preparation at the moment. My first attempt this year will be the Hayfield May Queen which I hope shouldn’t present too many problems!

I am targeting races I can realistically have a go at while I am a novice, mostly BS category races like Wincle, Lantern Pike, Eddie’s Revenge, Bull Hill etc etc. From the very small amount of info I’ve been given prior to joining here, I have been led to believe that they are fairly runnable, courses are marked out and due to the time of year and distance, I probably won’t have to carry anything with me. If any of this sounds wrong please let me know.

Once I have gotten a bit more used to getting out and having a go in the summer months, hopefully by then I will have some proper bodycover, and ability to read a map and use a compass. The aim is to be at least someway competent for next year so I can attempt some slightly longer races. I am a big wimp so I don’t want to try anything too challenging just yet!

I am sure that this is a familiar scenario but I would welcome any advice or suggestions. Thanks everybody!

James