Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tapering

Tapering

Hi all. I was just wondering how people physically prepare in the last month. At what point do u stop doing big runs? How much do u run in the weeks leading up an attempt. I've no knowledge of this as I'm not from a running background. Any tips would be much appreciated. Also just a shout out for doing plyometric squats. They are awesome! Doing 5 sets of 20 with 1min rest between sets at mo and have noticed big improvement in leg strength going up hill. I've run up what I previously had to rest on and did it with ease tbh. Great exercise!

What worked for me,

4 weeks before, legs 3 and 4 back to back at sub 23 hour pace carrying rucksack supporting a BG.

3 weeks before 50 mile on the bike.

2 weeks before leg 1 then back to Keswick at sub 23 hour pace.

1 week before 10 mile local run.

5 days before, 3 mile run then nothing.

I ran only 40 miles total in the 3 weeks before the BG, did a fair bit of cycling mind, ideally I would have ran a bit more in them 3 weeks but personal life did not permit this.

But we are all different.

ATB

Tahr
    Annan and District Athletic Club. http://www.adac.org.uk/

Super Moderator
    If you've trained properly you *might* be glad of a rest before your attempt. I did very little for two weeks before my round, but my fiance Stef did a 20+ miler the Sunday before her successful attempt. Listen to your body and don't try to cram too much in too late, or do something daft like a hard race in the last week, especially if you're not used to racing!
    Poacher turned game-keeper

Cheers guys.