Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Shoes and pack questions.

Shoes and pack questions.

I'm an almost complete novice at fell running (though I'm used to southern trails) and was hoping to pick the collective FRA forum brains over a couple of bits of kit.

Firstly, pack. I'm looking at doing the Kinder Downfall in April and need something that'll hold the minimum kit list. Will I get away with a 3 litre waist pack or do I need to look at 6, and if so should I consider a vest? I'd rather not break the bank and I do have an OMM Ultra 12 for winter events so a waist pack would suit as it'll get used at home on longer runs but I just don't know how much capacity I need. And any specific recommendations?

On the shoes front, I've put a few hundred km on my Speedcross 3's and for a day to day trail shoe I love the support and cushioning (which I need) and find the grip reasonable. But I'm looking for something better suited to fell runs in the Lake District and Wales, and preferably a bit lighter. They'll be kept largely for fell running/races so I can live with something a bit more minimalist (within reason.) My eye has turned to the Inov8 range; is there a shortlist of 'go-to' shoes for such terrain?

Pack: depends how bulky your waterproofs are. I use an OMM waist pouch which is plenty big enough.

Shoes: have you tried a Walsh PB (Elite trainer, etc. see http://www.normanwalshuk.com/page/th...rmance-range/) ? They are fairly minimalist, mind you the studs won't last on the road section at the end of the Kinder Downfall (terrific race by the way). Salomon Fellraiser another possibility.

Tim
    Last edited by wolley tha; 21-01-2016 at 07:24 PM.

Nowhere near me that stocks Walsh and I'd rather try on.

Waterproofs wise I've got a Montane Minimus jacket and will shortly be buying matching overtrousers, so not too bulky.

Super Moderator
    Mudclaws. Welcome to the forum
    Poacher turned game-keeper