Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Camera kit question

Camera kit question

Hi all,

Are there any photographers amongst us? If so, could anyone recommend a camera which could be taken out on training runs? Such features as; Good quality wide lens, robust, maybe water resistant, fairly light weight and easy enough to get in and out of your backpack?

I'm pretty new to the world of photography but would like to get some landscape shots and maybe some of my fellow runners when out on training. I currently have a Nikon D90 for taking pictures at races but that's way too cumbersome to go running with!

Any advice appreciated and thanks in advance

Stolly always takes a decent picture. Full depth of field, all distant hills there even in strong light! I did ask him once what he used but I've forgotten and never got round to getting one. Of course it may be all down to his photographic skills!!?....and Ian Charter might well give you advice of course!!
    Last edited by that_fjell_guy; 21-06-2016 at 01:05 PM.
    I M Povey New Marske Harriers
    http://manwithoutashed.blogspot.com

Live in Brum, run in Worcestershire and Shropshire
    I've been a fan of the Canon Powershot G series - had the G8 and then G9 and still use it as a lightweight alternative to my DSLR. The series have had plenty of upgrades since I got mine but they all retain most of the options you'd expect to see on a DSLR but with the obvious sacrifice on lens size.Not waterproof but put it in a small running sack and then in a plastic bag if it looks wet.
    I would post a link to some pictures on flickr I've taken with it but my workplace internet gestapo prevent such things!
    EDIT: Try searching Pete S on Flickr - don't use it much these days but anything prior to TWA 2013 is on a G9.
    Last edited by PeteS; 21-06-2016 at 04:07 PM.
    Pete Shakespeare - U/A

Going downhill fast