Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Complete noob

Complete newb

Hi all,

when I say complete newb I really mean it, in that I went for my first ever run on Saturday.

well I say run, it was more of a jog, well more of jog for half a mile walk a bit and so on for about 3 miles, but still I did it and I'll be out for more torture tonight.

I'm really hoping to get to do some fell running at some point but obviously need to get my basic fitness up first, I've been doing some cycling for the past 10 months or so, so I'm not starting from absolute rock bottom but somewhere near it

my only concern so far is that my heart rate seems to be a bit high at times when running, from what I've calculated from web sites I'd expect it to be about 183 max. but it peaked at 194 and I didn't feel that I was pushing as hard as I have done at times on the bike

anyway, any advise will be gratefully received and expect lots of stupid questions

Ian
    Last edited by ianporter; 23-06-2008 at 10:30 AM.

Re: Complete noob

Hi Ian,

I presume you're doing a calculation something like 220 minus your age???

If I'm right I'm guessing you're around 37.

If you are, I'd be a tad surprised if you're getting 194 just by jogging and walking - you sure you've done your calcs right?

not far off,

I'm 39.

my Forerunner 50 shows a max 0f 194 with an average of 134 over 27 mins and knowing the route it's about 3 miles.

I'm out again this evening so I'll see what I get then.

Ian

I can race for 3+ hours at average hr of 193 with no problems. I've done ramp and wingate max tests with a max hr of 203, I'm 38 so the inaccurate 220-age would give a theoretical max of 182. I've been checked out and I'm fine, just a high revver! If you're worried see your GP but you could just be like me, so you just have to adjust your heart rate training zones to compensate.

Quote Originally Posted by ianporter View Post
    not far off,

I'm 39.