Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Joss Naylor Challenge

Joss Naylor Challenge

I'm new to this type of event but thinking of having a go next year. Did a recce yesterday and I am asking - is the published route a general line for the course, or is there a requirement to "touch every summit"; I noticed that going to the "top" of Arthur's Pike and Rampsgill Head was a detour of a few minutes off the main track for what was a piece of slightly raised ground with a few rocks jutting out. I suppose, when supported, it's not such a fag with next to no kit (I was carrying a pack) .. no need for the supporter(s) to go there too. Ideas anyone .. or am I missing the spirit?
    Last edited by Redhead; 22-10-2009 at 04:06 PM.

Re: Joss Naylor Challenge

Quote Originally Posted by Redhead View Post
    I'm new to this type of event but thinking of having a go next year. Did a recce yesterday and I am asking - is the published route a general line for the course, or is there a requirement to "touch every summit"; I noticed that going to the "top" of Arthur's Pike and Rampsgill Head was a detour of a few minutes off the main track for what was a piece of slightly raised ground with a few rocks jutting out. I supposed, when supported, it's not such a fag with next to no kit (I was carrying a pack) .. no need for the supporter(s) to go there too. Ideas anyone .. or am I missing the spirit?
    As with all such events, you must go to each top however small. Another one is Pike How, nice little bump with small cairn.
    Yiannis