Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Training At Haworth

Training At Haworth

I was wondering if anyone could give me a set of grid refs for either the Withins Skyline, Stoop or Auld Lang Syne races (rough ideas would be fine). This might sound strange, but as a real newbie, I want to get out for some slightly longer runs than Baildon Moor can easily provide, and I fancy trying out these routes ready for the appropriate races.

I know the races are mostly flagged, but I want to get to know the area better before I enter anything. A bit of navigation practice would be a good thing too.

Re: Training At Haworth

Just a quick thought, is it bad form to ask for grid refs like this? If so, I apologise

Quote Originally Posted by StuRayner View Post
    Just a quick thought, is it bad form to ask for grid refs like this? If so, I apologise
    No it's not...
    Sorry Stu I can't help you - I've not done the Skyline but I did the Stoop and Auld Lang Syne for the first time and I'm not sure of the route at all - I just followed the crowds...
    What I can say is that the Stoop goes to Oxenhope Stoop from Penistone Country Park and returns along the wall edge before crossing the road on the way back, but that's about all that I know.

So c'mon guys this fella's new to fell-running - somebody must be able to help out...

If not, just get youself over to Penistone and head off towards the moor. There are good paths and plenty of sign posts that lead to you the Stoop (a small stone on the moor), Withins Top Ruins and Haworth Falls etc...
    Last edited by crowhill; 05-04-2007 at 02:57 PM.

Not exactly what you're after, but there are grid refs for the Yorkshireman half & full marathon, which starts from the same place on the K & C website,

http://www.kcac.co.uk/?page_id=207

Quote Originally Posted by dominion View Post
    Not exactly what you're after, but there are grid refs for the Yorkshireman half & full marathon, which starts from the same place on the K & C website,