Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: M'thon trainin, on the fells?

M'thon trainin, on the fells?

Ive just entered Edinburgh marathon, on 23 may. Whats people opinions on doing long training runs for a marathon, off road? Say for example if all or most of my 2-3 hour runs were done on the moors or hills would this help or hinder my marathon prep? I prefer training off road, and as long as I do my speed work on the road do you reckon I'll be able to do the marathon without doing more than 1 or 2 'long' road runs? Thanks for any thoughts on this

Re: M'thon trainin, on the fel

Did London using mostly offroad races and runs, did okayish, lacked the speed work to be honest.

Feet in the Cowclaps

I'm no expert, and it depends on what your goal is in the Edinburgh marathon, and I'm not really sure what the course profile is like at Edinburgh (is that the one with the long downhill at the start?), but I think there comes a time when your training needs to be 'race-specific'. I'd recommend doing more than 1 or 2 long road runs on the flat (the last 4 or 5 long runs?), as you need to get your legs used to pounding away on tarmac for several hours if nothing else.

I think you'll struggle. I generally train on the fells but do the odd long road race, 2 100K's last year, and a few marathons etc. I find that if I don't do the road miles my quads just get too damaged from the pounding. The fitness can be there but I reckon you need to condition your body to the pounding the road does to it.

Don't say that! I've got a Half in 2 weeks - have barely run on the roads in ages ...mind you I reckon a Marathon is way more than twice a Half ;-)

Master

Quote Originally Posted by TheReverand View Post