Thread: 1st event - what kit?

1st event - what kit?

I've got my 1st day even later this year. I've new to all this running lark, but I've been walking / mountaineering for the past 5 or 6 years.

I need to get a new backpack (mine are 40ltr+ climbing sacks) and I can't decide between the 20ltr or 25ltr OMM sacks. The 20ltr is obviously lighter but in the long term the 25ltr may be more use if I get into multi-day event and even as a day sack. Can anyone give me any advice here? One thing that may also swing it is that I'm 6' 2" and so the longer back length of the 25ltr may be better?

Also, again my boots are quite stiff for climbing so I was considering getting some lightweight boots such as the Salomon Cosmic 4D GTX. Or perhaps just use my INOV8 shoes?

All too much to think about!

Re: 1st event - what kit?

Welcome, pp.
    Which event are you thinking of? Sounds like you're off on a route march.

Its called the Oggie 8, a charity type thing for Ogwen Mountain Rescue. Its 25km with 2,500m of ascent, from the MR Station up onto the Carneddau to Yr Elen, then back to Ogwn, Up Y Garn, along the Glyders to Tryfan and back down to the MR Station.

Ah, kit list here:

http://www.ogwen-rescue.org.uk/oggie...9_kit_list.pdf

You need advice from mountain marathon, High Peak marathon types. The usual fell running kit list is more basic than your needs.
    Just seen your training post too. I assume you will be training as a foursome.

Yes, we've put together a team. I have to say I'm the weakest link!

We've all spent plenty of days out in the hills together before now, though not on an event like this. We've got 1 day planned to do the route as a whole.

Super Moderator

Welcome to the forum pp. I'd try and have a look at a 20Lt OMM and the smaller Inov8 packs and see which is most comfortable. Oggie 8 looks a good first outing!

Regarding shoes if you've got a pair of Inov8s which are comfie I'd go with them. Fit, grip and comfort are the things on long days out