Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Injury Prevention?

Injury Prevention?

I started fell running a year ago and have had no injuries until 3 weeks ago. Terrain at 10 miles changed from soft ground to hard rock and my back and left hip started to ache - 2 miles later I was in agony (not helped by carrying the kids heavy kayak to the beacj and back when I got back). Just about recovered now after complete rest and a trip to the physio. I suspect it's been down to overuse and lack of rest but it got me thinking - is there any "essential" stretching and strengthening exercises I could be doing to help prevent injury?

Re: Injury Prevention?

I'm by no means an expert Greg, but I've been concentrating on strengthening my core to provide stability (planks and bridges and some lower ab work). I, like you, started fell running about a year ago and have had lower back issues in the past, and so far this has kept me free of major issue, still some aching and stiffness, but I can live with that. Hope a few more experienced folks contribute as I'm also interested... Good luck in keeping injury free :-)

Super Moderator

I have had lots of problems with my knees in the past but after firstly doing the 200 Squat Challenge (there's a thread in the Training section) and then incorporating regular squads into my training (100 -150 twice or three times per week) the problems have largely gone

It'll be interesting to see other forumites replies on this topic
    Poacher turned game-keeper

Thanks for the advice. All I'm doing at the moment is some hip abduction, which I was advised to do about 18 months ago to strengthen the gluteous medius to prevent knee pain when I was road running (it worked). I'll start doing what you've both recommended.
    I did notice this from "fellrunner" on hip stretching, but the link doesn't work:-
    "Re: Hip Injury
    Detritus has posted some great stretches on this thread;

http://forum.fellrunner.org.uk/showthread.php?t=2506