Thread: Run routes around Keswick

Run routes around Keswick

Hi All,

I've convinced my mrs into heading to Keswick in the next couple of weeks for a long weekend. Its my first time running in the lakes, so im a bit overwhelmed at the possible route choices available and what’s safe and worth doing at this time of year, so can anyone recommend me some nice routes for me to take her on?
    Im planning on doing the Coledale Horseshoe as a recce for later in the year but maybe 2 or 3 ideas would be ideal (14 - 15mi max).

Alternatively, are there any guide companies around that area?

Cheers

Pete

Re: Run routes around Keswick

I'm in Keswick. I'll put you in touch with others as well if you wish. Drop me a PM and I'll pass on my details. There are usually a few runs going out mid-week, mainly at night. Bring a head-torch for some fun.

Tuesday and Thursday are club nights, so you could join a session. Every other night usually has a headtorch trot.

Phil

A good runnable route if you're not necessarily wanting to go up too high, but still want to get out into the wilds, is to go out along the old train line towards Penrith, turn off left at a place called Brundholme and then go up the east side of the valley between Skiddaw and Blencathra. Once you're at the head of the valley you can either go back down it along the nice undulating path on the west side, which is part of the Cumbria way and will take you all the way back to Keswick, or if you're feeling good you could carry on to Skiddaw House and maybe come back over Skiddaw itself.

Another good long-but-easyish one is going up Walla Crag along to Ashness Bridge then to Watendlath, over to Rosthwaite and again back to Keswick along the Cumbira way via Portinscale on the west side of Derwent Water. Thinking about it I'd probably actually do that one the other way round to get the less interesting flat miles out of the way early on.