Thread: Mountain Marathon advice

Mountain Marathon advice

Hello, I would be pleased if anyone could offer advice or share training tips on training with weight. I have built up 3-5 hour days on the hills at around 4kph with 35lbs of weight.
    Although on long journeys or MM my pack weighs up to 50+ which is excessive knowing the light kit on the market but I'm training specifically to carry around this weight at speed so please share your tips on carrying 40-45lbs.

Is the key get out on the hills with the kit?? or get in the gym and complete lots of squats.

Help and advice would be much appreciated.

Re: Mountain Marathon advice

Hi Mic

I am no expert on MMs, only done one in fact, I have also have done a Help for hero’s charity event with a 35lb pack it was only 9 miles cross country, I did win it, but it was not a high class field despite having plenty of ex-service men in it.

My partner for the MM was very experience in MMs and a few of my club members too have a lot of experience including winning events and racing in the elite classes, but as nobody else has replied to your post I will say a little. Hopefully other will add there thoughts latter.

I would say 3 to 5 hours on the hill with pack is fine, the most I did was 5 hours in one day before my MM, our first day of the event was just under 8 hours, I had no issues. I think your pack is a bit heavy, mine in the end was about 15-16lbs and I had plenty of food left. It was the Saunders MM and we had good weather, for the OMM I would think because of extra clothing I will be around 20lbs for my pack. The elite guys had packs of 4-5kg on the SLMM, I would say as the event goes on every kg will count.

I trained for the charity event with 47lbs as the weight limit for the event was set at 45lbs, two days before the event we got an e-mail saying due to health and safety concerns the weight was being dropped to 35lbs, obviously I had no problems.