Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: We wanted to say hello!

We wanted to say hello!

Hi, really fab website so pleased I found it. Just wanted to say hello and gather ANY words of wisdom that you have. We are planning a Bob Graham and just thinking about our prep so I am sure I will be on here lots. First some background.

I'm Mike, hello I am at the wrong end of my 40s and I work as a mountain leader mainly in the lake district. I also work in Teesside at a job I don't talk about but pays the bills. Now I dont race or live for running but I do love the hills so a couple of years ago started jogging on the hills for fitness and love it. At the same time my wife introduced be to her chum Jane who is a ultra marathon nutter but cant navigate. We struck up a training partnership based on Jane shows me how to run for mind numbing amounts of time and I would show her how to navigate.

Now Jane is always trying to get me to enter races and I am always trying to talk her into hill based epics. Last week we both realised that we had a long time dream of doing the Bob Graham but never felt we could until we read this site and Bobs. Turns out that 30miles of hills and a long day each week isnt far off what we are doing now. The spur of the moment decision was, well it would be wrong not to give it a go. So we are, aiming for June time next year. We both fancy a low key minimalist attempt.
    Any advice and guidance would be welcomed, I have never gone over 30 miles before (hills of course, dont even own a pair of road shoes) but live in Threlkeld so have access to the route. Jane is good for the miles and mental fortitude with a CV to support it but isn't as keen on hills as I am.

I look forward to getting to know you all as time goes by.

Banned

Re: We wanted to say hello!

Hi Mike and welcome.

Supporting others is part of the BG tradition and a great way to start. Most will welcome you and you will learn loads in terms of routes, foods and planning.