Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fell running beginner

Fell running beginner

Hi - as the title suggests, I'm totally new to fell running. I've always enjoyed running around the countryside so thought it would be great to get myself fit and take it all to a whole new level. Just wondered what the best way to learn the ropes would be? Am I right in thinking that all races have prizes according to age category, ie 30 - 40, 40 - 50 etc? If I'm right in thinking that, does that mean you can still run competitively regardless of your age??

I live in the dales and noticed a race in Kettlewell. Would this be a good first target?

Quote Originally Posted by Nobbylad View Post
    Hi - as the title suggests, I'm totally new to fell running. I've always enjoyed running around the countryside so thought it would be great to get myself fit and take it all to a whole new level. Just wondered what the best way to learn the ropes would be? Am I right in thinking that all races have prizes according to age category, ie 30 - 40, 40 - 50 etc? If I'm right in thinking that, does that mean you can still run competitively regardless of your age??

I live in the dales and noticed a race in Kettlewell. Would this be a good first target?
    Hi Nobby Welcome to the world of fell running, check out the races page on the fra website, they list all/most the races in the handbook, some races require certain skills ie navigation skills or may require previous experience. DT will be along soon I'm sure as they are local runners

It would be common to get a v40 in the top 3 and a v50 in the top 10 so age does not make these guys slow!!