Thread: What winter kit?

Question What winter kit?

Hi,

I'm new to fell running this year and I'm starting to think about what kit I'm going to need for the coming autumn and winter seasons. I've looked around at jackets and trousers, but there's so much choice about it's making my head spin. What would you recommend as decent performing and also reasonably priced? I'm prepared to spend up to a hundred quid on a good quality jacket that will hopefully last for years. And what about hat and gloves, any suggestions?

thanks

Master and MR

Re: What winter kit?

tag you will get so many answers from everyone about different stuff

i use
    montane windproof and waterproof jackets ( i use featherlite h20
    ron hill cheap bottoms with zip
    my cycling bianchi bobblehat
    thinsulate gloves
    ron hill normal and waterproof tracksters
    odel baselayers
    helly hansen baselayers
    pete bland bum bag
    silva compass
    footie refs whistle

apart from edale race this year ive not had problems, some runners recommended a balaclava
    a lot depends on how you are
    personally i dont mind the cold and normally set off with just my vest and shorts but remember gear that you take has to keep you alive if you get injured whilst out on the fells and not just in races
    you become very cold once you stop moving

im still unsure about whats waterproof and whats not where jackets are concerned , i sweat a lot and at times you think the jacket has let water in but it hasnt.
    good luck and enjoy it
    Last edited by daz h; 05-08-2007 at 06:35 PM.