Thread: Another beginner...!

Another beginner...!

Hi I'm new to fell running and to this forum and just wanted to say hello....

I've had an interest in fell running for a while, but living in Coventry means I have yet to get involved.

However now is the time to push myself and go for it. Went on my first training run at the weekend, 8 miles around Mam Tor, Lose Hill & Win Hill in the Peak District... No major mishaps, in fact I found it easier than road-running due to the constant changes in terrain, rather than plodding along using the same muscles for mile after mile...

I have no particular worries about my fitness, as I'm a reasonably competent road and trail runner (usually top 10 finisher in 10k and half marathon races), also a pro kickboxer, along with plenty of fell walking experience...

My main issue as I found out at the weekend is converting all that into speed across the tops and on the descents.

I'm looking at my first race being Moel Siabod in July. I'm well aware this is a category AS race, however it is a mountain I have climbed many times in fair weather and foul, so would feel reasonably comfortable here, as opposed to an 'easier' race on unfamiliar ground...

If anybody has any general tips to offer, or any advice on that particular race, then I'm all ears...!

Pete

sounds like you will be perfectly OK on it.

As the good Doctor says! My guess is you'll be much better than me at it 'straight out of the box'....so to speak! Just crack on! Enjoy!
    I M Povey New Marske Harriers
    http://manwithoutashed.blogspot.com

Just go and enjoy it mate, sounds like you will be perfectly fine. The more races you do, the more you will learn about descending, just let yourself go and don't think about falling while relaxing at the same time...that's what I do anyway and it's worked so far!
    http://calferguson.blogspot.co.uk/

Calvin Ferguson - Blackburn Harriers & AC

Thanks for the kind words and info everyone....