Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bumbag vs pack vs vest

Bumbag vs pack vs vest

I've traditionally always used a bumbag (little inov8 one or OMM Ultra 6l) however recently I've found that the larger bag causes back pain after 3hours+. So I've decided to get a new bag. Here's the issue though the selection is immense! Some of the prices are obscene and I'm struggling to choose.

I reckon it needs to be around 5litres (waterproofs/hat/glove/extra base layer), have pockets at the front for food/compass/bottle.

This looks like a good punt Nathan FireCatcher but I have no experience with the brand and the accompanying video is so grossly American....

Any other suggestions? Or just wise words....

I use the OMM 3l waist pouch and find two things in particular help:

1. Carry two 300ml Capri Sun pouches with screw top lids within. Can be refilled high up if needs be. Compress 'fluidly' (excuse the pun) around the rest of the contents within (Aldi nut and seed bars compress well and taste great by the way!).

2. Scan the section of map needed/race map and laminate. Fold into quadrants when laminated and tuck neatly away into the side pouch with your compass on top. Print map content on both sides of the A4 (full bleed) if needs be for peripheral area coverage. The compass can also be clipped in to the key snaplink to prevent loss.

I've got a firecatcher.

Fantastic bit of kit, very small mind, but enough for 'Full Kit' if you have very packable lightweight gear.

Cheers, Hursty. I popped into a local shop earlier and the guy slated the firecatcher due to theway the chest straps run through the holsters. I tried a Ultimate Direction AK vest and was very impressed by it's stability. The vests just seems so ostentatious compared to all my knackered and beaten up running gear!

Quote Originally Posted by Monolith View Post
    I use the OMM 3l waist pouch and find two things in particular help: