Page 1 of 31 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: LDMT why not more popular

LDMT why not more popular

Had a great run (and walk) round the classic at the Lake district mountain trial this year and last year. A really well designed course, brilliant atmosphere. I can't for the life of me work out why its not more popular. Surely people aren't put off by the navigation?

Senior Member No map, no compass's Avatar
    Because its hard and you have to use a map.
    Rigby Jerram

I wish they would let people run in pairs as I'd love to do it but my nav isn't that strong and I'd be worried if the weather was poor.
    Linda Murgatroyd, Calder Valley Fell Runners

How popular do you think it should be? 150 odd competitors, over the three course admittedly, is pretty good i think. (Ennerdale 77, Wasdale 111, Borrowdale 290). I'm no expert (having just completed my first LDMT - medium) but it seems like the Classic could be the toughest race in the calender. Which other race does the winner (Rhys FR) take 4:40 to complete?

Anywho, in short I agree with this.

Quote Originally Posted by No map, no compass View Post
    Because its hard and you have to use a map.
    Adam Speed
    P&B

Master
    I think you've answered it yourself - people are put off by the navigation. You just have to look at some of the threads on here for races where the route is well known, with people worrying about route finding.

I won't name the race as I wouldn't want to embarrass anyone who might recognise themselves from this story... but I was at a race a couple of weeks ago... myself and the guy who had caught me up were unsure where to go, and he was obviously looking at me to lead him... he stood at the bottom of a steep climb and waited for me to see if it was the right way... like an idiot I shouted down to him that it was and he followed me up...