Thread: Path Blocked, Stalybridge

Path Blocked, Stalybridge

Hi,

I was out for a run today and attempted the steep climb up to the trig point above Hobson Moor above Stalybridge.

https://www.strava.com/segments/7257874

There is a new, sturdy barbedwire fence right across it. I've been running this way regularly for the last 3 years and am very disappointed to see this happen.

There was an email address pinned to the fence asking for contact from people who have been running that way over the years. I know that the person who owns the land directly above Hobson Moor quarry tried to stop access that way a few years ago and it was challenged on the grounds of people having used it as a path over the last 20 years. Hopefully something similar could be done here.

Could anyone that runs this route now or in the past let me know please.

258 Attempts By 73 People on that segment, so it would be reasonably well used by strava users alone. It would hardly come under the banner of "abandoned footpath"

Could you add comments to the activites on the more recent people on the leaderboard asking them to contact you?

Yes, cheers Patrick, that's a good idea.

I also think that this is the descent line for the fell race that's part of the Tour of Tameside, which runs in June. That was run regularly quite a while back so there will be good documentary evidence of it's continued use from there. I'll ask a few of the older members in our clubs and some of my dad's mates, I think.

I haven't heard back from the mail account I emailed so have contacted the Rambler's Association, the Peak and Northern Footpaths Society and the council.

Quote Originally Posted by thegnigma View Post
    Yes, cheers Patrick, that's a good idea.