Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Documentary

Question Documentary

Hello all,

My name is Jack, I'm a film producer based in Manchester who is in the process of making a short film about a fell runner. As a complete novice to the sport, I just wanted to ask the community a few questions so we can make the film as accurate and honest as possible if anyone had any insight they would like to share that would be fantastically helpful!

Firstly, what inspires you to fell run? When you're at the 18th mile and you feel like you're about to die what is it that keeps you going?

What initially inspired you to try it out?

Through my research there seems to be a pattern of older people being devoted fell runners - more so than in allot of other sports - can anyone shine a light on this?

Out of interest, there seems to be a lot of excentricities in the sport, has anyone got any partially interesting examples of this?

The community seems to be a vital aspect, everyone I have spoken to sings the fell running communities praises, why do you think this is?

(This is a lot more trivial!) One of the title ideas for the film is "Mud, Sweat and Mountineers" This has split the crew down the middle, do you think you could call a fell runner a mountaineer?!

Finally, this is a fact finding mission, so if there is anything fundamental to the sport that should be covered by a film on it that anyone wants to share I would love to hear from you

Thanks for any help you guys can give us, I massively appreciate it and - if there is any interest - I'll keep you all updated on the film.

Live in Brum, run in Worcestershire and Shropshire
    There are far better qualified people to comment on most of those questions than me. However, I doubt you could call a fell runner a mountaineer - well not in the true sense of the word anyway.