Thread: Fresh out of the box

Fresh out of the box

Hi guys, so I'm completely new to the sport of fell running. I have got started due to working in scotland and the hills on the door step. I've been out a couple of times but hope to get out in the peak district when I'm home.
    The only issue I have is that I work away regularly so hitting the peaks will be very varied, so it wouldnt be beneficial to join a local club if that makes sense. As it may be every couple of months before I'm even home.
    What would be the best way to get around the peaks? Do any of you guys know any decent routes to point out / specific websites to follow that I can get the maps from?
    Alternatively if anybody wants to get in touch when I'm back I would happily be shown some routes if that was possible, it could be a nice warm up for somebody 😂
    All help and any tips greatly appreciated

JB

Hello jb

A good way to find routes is to look through the “races” section on the FRA website, there’s usually a link to the race website, and often they contain a route map. And there you go!

Otherwise just get out and string a few tops together using a map of your own. Infinite routes available to you!

A nice starter route I did in the Peaks was from Castleton, up the Winnatts Pass Road, onto Mam Tor, Lose Hill, down into Hope, and back into Castleton. Think it was about 10 miles.

Enjoy Scotland!!

Quote Originally Posted by Travs View Post
    Hello jb

A good way to find routes is to look through the “races” section on the FRA website, there’s usually a link to the race website, and often they contain a route map. And there you go!

Otherwise just get out and string a few tops together using a map of your own. Infinite routes available to you!

A nice starter route I did in the Peaks was from Castleton, up the Winnatts Pass Road, onto Mam Tor, Lose Hill, down into Hope, and back into Castleton. Think it was about 10 miles.

Enjoy Scotland!!
    Hi travs