Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Running guides - what qualification

Running guides - what qualification

I might have the opportunity to work part time in the next year or so. I was wondering about in my days off doing something outdoorsy. Before I qualified as a teacher I wanted to work as an outdoor instructor but the opportunity never arose for me to make a go of it. Now I wonder whether there is scope to do something new. I live in Northumberland which seems to be a bit of developing tourism region and wonder whether offering guided runs in the Cheviots would be a good way to spend my days not working in a school. I’m not so much as asking for business advice but asking if I was go forward with the idea what qualifications does a “running guide” need?

I thought Mountain Leader but it’s not really running related, but gives a grounding in mountain travel?

If I wanted to teach navigation which qualification has the most kudos? I orienteer and run MMS so can navigate but think people like to see you have a certificate.

Also I like the idea of Nordic walking/running. I’ve seen the walking qualification but is there a running with poles qualification?

It’s worth noting that I wouldn’t need to make money from the venture, my teaching would support me.

The only running guide I know is Dave Taylor. His qualifications are on his homepage: https://fellrunningguide.co.uk/about/

These sound sensible, but I'm not sure any are essential.

Good luck.

The qualifications related to EA/UKA are LIRF/CIRF (i think)..... i assume Leader in Running, and Coach in Running, or similar.

And i do know that there are closely related fellrunning equivalents. I assume this is the qualification that Dave Taylor refers to on his website.

My club often hosts courses for people to gain the qualifications... are you a member of a club? They might be able to provide info. I think (although may be incorrect) that those courses may also come with a DBS check.