Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Fell Running for puppies

Question Fell Running for puppies

I would like any advice on running with dogs. How old do they have to be before I take them fell running, how far can they go. etc. I have a newish Golden Retriever puppy (5 months). Although there is lots of information out there on general exercise for dogs, I am looking to do some ultra marathons this year and need to know how much the dog will be able to fit in with my training before I risk damaging her.

Master

Re: Fell Running for puppies

I am no expert but i certainly wouldn`t be expecting to be running a dog over any real distance until it was fully developed (Say 12mths old) then i would treat it the same as myself and build up its distance progressively.

I fell you should also take the Breed of dog into account and remember what a particular breed has been bred to do.

I Have a Four year old Border collie that will Happily cover long distances 25+ miles and still be ready for more but then collies are bred to spend long days on rough terrain and to cover the ground quickly when need be, and they are built for it, i for one would not expect a Retriever if i had one to cover the long distance that my collie is capable of as i reckon a retriever is happier doing short fast bursts and ambling back with something in its mouth.

But i could be wrong of course
    The older I get the Faster I was

I completely agree with the above. I had a border collie that could go for miles- but even with him I waited until he was a year old. We got a new pup a couple of years ago (Jack Russel). He also has increadible stamina and speed but anything over 6 miles does tire him out. Labs should be fine on the hills but do ease him into it as he gets older.
    I love running with my dog- better than running with other humans and the bond and trust you develop as you run is great.

Quote Originally Posted by Andy Skelhorn View Post