Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Hill Reps - Good for you?!

Wolverhampton - nearest 'hill' the Wrekin!

Hill Reps - Good for you?!

My general training for the fells has revolved around long hilly Sunday runs and good quality running on relatively flat terrain. Then every now and then I get motivated to do really tough hill sessions, figuring they're bound to improve my climbing, which has always been my weakness - I'm much better at descending and can run much faster on the flat than most of my peers. But the opposite always seems to happen, they leave my quads so bloody shot I can barely walk up a steep hill the next time I do a long run!

Is this normal? Or do I just push the reps too hard and not allow recovery? Or is it a case of what works for one won't necessarily work for another? Interested in people's views as I'm a very thoughtful trainer and just can't quite get my head round why it shouldn't work. Or maybe I'm just meant to be a crap climber, we can't all be good at everything!

Re: Hill Reps - Good for you?!

Hill reps is now an essential part of my training. I am always looking for big hills to run up to make me better on the ascent as last year that was one (of many) weak areas.

Think the problem may lie with the "every now and then" bit of your hill training. You need to do more not less.

The more you do the better you will be but that means at least once a week you need to massacre your thighs all for the cause. You will soon find that the recovery is faster.

My strong suit (well my least weak ) is climbing and almost every run I do includes a hill or two. I think you just don't do enough hill climbs so your legs aren't so good at hacking it.

By the way I now have hugely disproportionate sized quads