Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hill Starts

Hill Starts

Hi - I'm just getting into Fell running and previously have spent all my time road running - I've done a couple of marathons quite a few half's and consider myself not too bad at them.

I noticed though that for the fells people seem to rush off up the climbs quickly and have the push to do it

I'm usless at that at the moment - on road runs I stay back and ease into he first few miles.. seems like I need to learn to drop that a bit

Any thoughts?
    Anything that you think will help me get a better starting point?

I'm always at the back and hate it!

Talking Re: Hill Starts

Quote Originally Posted by Egglett View Post
    Hi - I'm just getting into Fell running and previously have spent all my time road running - I've done a couple of marathons quite a few half's and consider myself not too bad at them.

I noticed though that for the fells people seem to rush off up the climbs quickly and have the push to do it

I'm usless at that at the moment - on road runs I stay back and ease into he first few miles.. seems like I need to learn to drop that a bit

Any thoughts?
    Anything that you think will help me get a better starting point?

I'm always at the back and hate it!

Oh yeah!

Well you seemed to get round the Half-Yorkshireman OK!

Re: Hill Starts

Rushing off up the climbs is not a good move! You'll pay for it over the rest of the race. Climbing at a pace that you can sustain is a much better idea, certainly for a race that's more than a few miles.

So I'd stick to easing into a race if I were you. At least until you're confident enough to know how fast to push depending on how long the race is.

Hill reps are a good way to strengthen and speed up your climbing. I just find them boring!

Quote Originally Posted by Egglett