Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Glucosamine

Glucosamine

I've started on my first bottle of these today, I don't have any major aches or pains but a chap down my club reckons that it'll help with injury protection... Also as a builder I spend a lot of time on my knees so I thought I'd give it a go...

Does anyone else take Glucosamine or any of the other simular supplements? Have there been any clinical trials on atheletes etc?
    What do you all think?

Re: Glucosamine

Quote Originally Posted by Twister View Post
    I've started on my first bottle of these today, I don't have any major aches or pains but a chap down my club reckons that it'll help with injury protection... Also as a builder I spend a lot of time on my knees so I thought I'd give it a go...

Does anyone else take Glucosamine or any of the other simular supplements? Have there been any clinical trials on atheletes etc?
    What do you all think?
    I take it but can't say it does work but I have no problems with my knees

this has been talked about before as has this link

http://www.quackwatch.com/01Quackery...ucosamine.html

I recently did a review at work at what the best evidence base for the treatment of osteoarthritis of the knee was. Both glucosamine sulphate and chondritin came out well, and in the studies we looked at the side effects were no worse in the group popping the pills to those taking the placebo.
    http://www.physiobench.com
    online physio treatment and advice

Master

Quote Originally Posted by Twister View Post

What do you all think?
    Twister for Glucosamine to work it would have to pass from the gut into the blood unchanged. Then the liver would have to prepare it for use in the joints. From the liver it would be carried via the blood to the exact place it's needed, and be incorporated into the joint.