Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Vegetarianism & Ultradistance

Vegetarianism & Ultradistance

I am increasingly eating a non meat diet with little fish.
    A question to all vegetarian runners who also do Ultras/high mileage: Have you any advice ? Websites to visit? Thanks
    Generally going nowhere fast.

Re: Vegetarianism & Ultradista

Do you mean as a protein supplement Alf or just recipe ideas??

Quote Originally Posted by Alf Tupper View Post
    I am increasingly eating a non meat diet with little fish.
    A question to all vegetarian runners who also do Ultras/high mileage: Have you any advice ? Websites to visit? Thanks
    Key thing is mineral intake - but don't just take tablets to supplement your diet. You can get superfood mixes (containing things like spirulina) which you may not like the taste of first time you try them(!) but quickly get used to them.

I'll post some links later.

Cheers Pilgrim.
    Emmi , i'm not sure really , i'm new to it , i suppose i just think i won't get enough protein which is prob crazy. I also read that i may need to take Zinc supplement.

Quote Originally Posted by Alf Tupper View Post
    Cheers Pilgrim.
    Emmi , i'm not sure really , i'm new to it , i suppose i just think i won't get enough protein which is prob crazy. I also read that i may need to take Zinc supplement.
    You probably need less protein than you think (unless you're still growing) and with a carefully thought out vegetarian/vegan diet you can get all the nutrition you need. The pale, washed out veggies you sometimes see haven't got it right!

Super Moderator

Alf, I wouldn't wory too about your veggie with a bit of fish diet. I lived off very similar for years and although I didn't run then I was playing 5-a-side, mountain biking in the Peak and doing plenty of hill walking and was fit and well. I'm thinking about going back to a similar regime (he said having just finished a large corned-beef sandwich!)

Lola

Alf,