Page 1 of 19 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: folding numbers

folding numbers

why do organisers get their knickers in a twist when competitors fold their numbers. as long as the number is visible then there is no problem. folding around the number does not make the number itself any smaller. an idiot marshall at the Garstang 10k tried to rugby tackle me 100 yards from the finish because my number was folded (i was running that slow by then he mis-timed his tackle and missed) so I finished then to find out they only had large T-shirts.
    I know sponsors names are on the numbers but I am not a professional and dont think we should be bound to advertise a retailer or other business if we do not want to.
    In windy weather I always fold the number to increase the paper thickness so they do not rip as there is nothing worse than a half pinned number flapping when you are trying to concentrate on not coming last.

Re: folding numbers

It's annoying not being able to fold, but if the race relies on a small amount of sponsorship to keep costs down - fair enough surely?

Quote Originally Posted by Beowulf View Post
    It's annoying not being able to fold, but if the race relies on a small amount of sponsorship to keep costs down - fair enough surely?
    But the sponsership that the advertising on the number recieves is surely going to come from the runners anyway, who will see there own number so wont need to see everyone elses????