Thread: B.G.R. In just under 2 Years.

B.G.R. In just under 2 Years.

As a celebration of my 40 th birthday and to make some money for charity i want to do the B.G.R. . I have plenty of help from experienced fell runners regarding the sort of training needed. I have asked others but i do value your opinions.I have done a 16 mile and 30 mile this year slowly admittedly do you guys think i have a chance on that timescale ?. Also what is the situation with registering does the club say if others are trying that day so you can pick a day not being used or is only 1 attempt per day allowed as not to congest the fells. I have seen the harvey map is it useful ?. Can any of you offer any other useful advice whatever that may be.

Re: B.G.R. In just under 2 Yea

I think 2 years is more than enough time for a reasonably fit runner. You just need to adapt your fitness to the fells. You can attempt it whenever you choose. Most people go for midsummer for maximum light. You simply notify the BG club (details on the website) and go for it. If you do go for a date on a weekend on June 18th or 25th, you are guaranteed lots of company, from maybe around 10 other attempts.
    website here http://www.bobgrahamclub.org.uk/

Quote Originally Posted by tri-mind View Post
    Also what is the situation with registering does the club say if others are trying that day so you can pick a day not being used or is only 1 attempt per day allowed as not to congest the fells. I have seen the harvey map is it useful ?
    I'll deal with these 2 questions.

The planning and organising of attempts is a private matter for the contender(s). The Club only asks for registration to help ensure transparency and has no authority to ask contenders not to go on certain dates. Days with multiple attempts are common.

If you want peace and quiet, relatively, avoid the Dark Peak BG day if you can find out the date. The weekend nearest the longest day is always thronged also.