Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Training for the superlongs

Training for the superlongs

Ok - I've left this a little left but figure there are still 3 months or so until the Lakeland classics begin so there is still a glimmer of hope. I am looking to see if anyone knows of a decent training schedule I can follow to help me get a bit of fitness ready for the superlongs.
    I have been running the classics for the last 5 years. I am a middle-packer with a personal best of Ennerdale being 4.42, Duddon 3.40.

I have done very little running for a couple of months and put on a stone in weight! I am looking to realistically get out for 3-4 times a week.

Any suggestions/tips/websites appreciated.

Thanks

Re: Training for the superlong

3.40's a damned good time round Duddon innit? top third / quarter of field, easily.

Duddon is end of May usually isn't it, so more than two months to get one's backside into gear. Reckon you'll be alreet there bobster!

cheers Zoot - you're right I do just need to get my backside into gear. In the past I've just bimbled about in training - a bit on the road, a bit on the fell - sometimes fast, sometimes slow. Does it help if training becomes a bit more scientific by doing hill reps, fartlek etc.?

Quote Originally Posted by Bobster View Post
    cheers Zoot - you're right I do just need to get my backside into gear. In the past I've just bimbled about in training - a bit on the road, a bit on the fell - sometimes fast, sometimes slow. Does it help if training becomes a bit more scientific by doing hill reps, fartlek etc.?
    for what it's worth bobster - as I am a slower and less experienced runner than yourself - I do think things like hill reps and intervals help. I think they pay a good fitness dividend for the time they take up. (bang for your buck)